Toyota 200 series and towing

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bushtracker Forum Forum Index -> GENERAL DISCUSSION
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Benzak

State:: N S W
Current Bushtracker owner:: Yes
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:57 pm    Post subject: Toyota 200 series and towing Reply with quote

Hi Folks, I'm a newbie having the good fortune to secure Gordon and Narelle's 2008 20 footer which is in absolutely immaculate condition.
I run a 200 series GXL Cruiser and noted the comments on synthetic oils for the hard haul. I phoned Toyota Aust who advised they don't provide tech advice any more and refer you to the dealers. The dealer advice is, the automatic transmission on the 200 series is virtually a sealed unit, no dip stick and not requiring change of oil unless in really hard conditions and then only at 80,000kms. They say the oil is Toyota "WS" which means world standard and only one of two oils of similar quality. They say Castrol does one but also go on to say, "if you change the oil away from the Toyota oil supplied you will void your warranty" there it is again the old "Toyota void the warranty " So........folks, that's the Toyota response, it will be interesting to see what happens if someone has an automatic failure, Comments anyone? and yes, I'm absolutely delighted with my purchase. Benzak
BobnDi

State:: QLD
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll beat the Ranger and say welcome to the forum Benzak. While I am not sure about the 200 series, I have a 100TD auto which also has a sealed system and blew 5th gear at around 50K before I took delivery of my BT. Toyota did not want to know me and naturally I went elsewhere for the repair because of their attitude and the much lower cost but to get to the point, Western Automatics in Brisbane informed me the Toyota oil is a synthetic oil product.